top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristie

The Walking Book Club- Step Into the Pages


Trying to do as many events as I can outside, I decided to try the Walking Book Club. This is NOT my idea, I picked it up from a NJ Summer Reading Conference. 2017? 2018?

The idea is that everyone meets at the library and walks together discussing the books along the way. It's perfect for readers like me, who are obsessed with getting in their steps for day and is stroller friendly as well.

PREP:

Picking one title to read for a book club is a small hell. Does the library own enough copies? Is there a giant waiting list? Etc. I decided to use my library's Bookclub In a Bag service, which netted me 12 copies of Circe. After that, it was just a matter of mapping out a route and finding decent questions to ask along the way. Prep is very minimal. I also had participants sign a "hold harmless" so the library cannot be sued for any little accidents.

HOW IT WENT: I had one lovely person attend the September meetup. She had just found out about it and had not had time to read the book, so we reversed rolls and I became a tourist in "her" town and we walked together and looked at the sites (and there are MANY). It was a super fun hour. I'll be editing this post to report on the October meeting (Woman in Black) and the November meeting (any true crime book). Then we will put this one to bed for Jan, Feb, and March and bring it back for April.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page