top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristie

5.8 The Odd Woman Readalong Catch-up


We went out for supplies and I have fallen a bit behind in my posts but I'm currently on Chapter 16 and moving right along with the actual reading.

The book seems to be stretching its legs with ideas at the moment. The most unsettling of these, to read, are of a woman's place in the home. Like Monica, I shudder every time Widdowson says the word "duties". Uhg!

I'm also reading The City We Became by N.K. Jemison (mostly on audio, the narrator is FABULOUS) and The City in the Middle of the Night by Anders. I'm trying to read all of the Hugo finalists, but I have until August to complete that goal. I'm really just down to a novel or 2 and a couple of short stories. Then I will have to invent some new reading goals for myself.

I've been occupying my time with a great many old school hobbies. I have been writing letters. In fact, I just ordered a bunch of cute stationery from Etsy. We have been working on a puzzle. There is also gardening and I brought out my sewing machine to make masks.

On the subject of masks, it occurred to me the other day that they are not going away anytime soon and I really should make more. I also got a tip somewhere that if you put a band of knit fabric around your face before you put on your mask it helps with the slipping. I cut the arm off an old short-sleeved t-shirt and used that. It works! It does not eliminate the fogging of my glasses, however.

I have also reached the point in which running to the grocery stores does not cause complete terror in my soul. I'm still keeping us to an every-other-week schedule. My shopping style is very Little House on the Prairie- we aren't coming back for 2 weeks so buy two of that thing we use every day! Buy 3! I'm not hoarding or breaking store limits, I'm just sick of running out of spinach wraps.


0 views0 comments
bottom of page