top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristie

The Craft Table-September


September was a short month for me because I actually started this new position about mid-month. I took a week to settle in and then starting programming.

This is what we made in our first Craft Table.

I'm doing CT once a month in an effort to bring people back into the library, in person and inside. I new that this community had a love a craft programs from previous adult service librarians, so I figured I'd go with an old faithful.

I specifically selected this project because I had several terracotta pots on hand (you want 4 inch for this). I also had paints that are on their way to becoming dust from non-use and tons of scrap fabric laying around (from making masks). I ran into problems with finding more pots. I suggest saving this one for spring. It never occurred to me that I'd have to go everywhere to find pots but, duh, it is NOT planting season so.....several Home Depots later, I had enough pots. Everyone needs two, one for the body and one for the face. The straw is from Michaels (11 dollars for a bale of clean, craft straw). The mini-straw hats are (sadly) from Hobby Lobby. They were the only ones who had them in stock. Believe me, I don't like to give HL my money, but needs must in this case. Again, had I done this in Spring, I probably would have had more choice. The string for the legs I found in a supply cabinet, the beads were on hand.

HOW IT WENT:

I'm going to call this one a success. We had decent turnout, 8 people made scarecrows. Waiting for the paint to dry took the most time, but everyone worked on decorating their hats while the faces dried. I have enough glue guns that it wasn't really necessary to share. We used a combo method to put these scarepersons together. Start here. Check out this one. I used craft sticks covered in fabric to make the arms. Sadly, I can't find the tutorial on that. Sorry.

Mostly it was just a joy to be in a room full of people creating again. People were laughing and chatting and designing outfits for their scareperson. Honestly, it was priceless. And now my little buddy lives on my window reminding me of that fun day.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page