top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristie

5.2 The Odd Women Chps. 3&4


Do you ever catch a glimpse of yourself in the glare of your Kindle glass screen? Shudder.

I can't put this damned novel down.

I'm trying to just stick to the reading as I have other stuff to read before they are due back to the library. Digital stuff still had due dates. Saturdays and Sundays are my slowest reading days because my significant other is not working so we are doing yard work and Facetiming with friends.

So in chapters 3 and 4...well, a great deal happens and I am struck again with the feeling that this would make a great Masterpiece Theater production. I'd love to see the costumes and the boat ride scene (oops, spoilers for chapter 5)!

Virigie goes to see Rhoda at Miss Barfoot's (greatest character name ever?) and this quote:


 "It was the first time in her life that she had spoken with a woman daring enough to think and act for herself". 

Yaass, Queen. Chapter 4 introduces us to Monica, who I liked right away for putting an admirer in his place. She's really kind about it and even suggests another young lady who is interested in him and his time as an alternative. Then she gets her birthday present from her sisters and then visits Rhoda herself. She is quite unimpressed. I think Monica has it in her head that she is going to marry her way out of poverty and isn't really open to other options at this moment. She does agree to go back to Miss Barfoot's if invited. There is so much reference to Monica's good looks vs her sisters' homely looks. Gissing tells us that all of the hard work as a draper is putting Monica's appearance in jeopardy.

So delicious! I'm enjoying this so very much.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page