top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristie

5.1 The Odd Women Chps 1&2


Not only am I excited that April is finally over, but I am also really excited to start reading The Odd Women by George Gissing! This cool cover is not the one I have, I uploaded the generic Kindle copy. The read-along is being hosted by Katie and Marissa and you can read about it here.


Chapters One and Two:

Whoo! This one jumps right into the action. I don't read a lot of Victorian novels, so I have no idea if this is normal but we are introduced to the main characters and given a hint of the financial situation. Chapter One ends with the catalyst that sets up the rest of the novel. I honestly don't know how spoiler-free I can remain. This is my first read-along. I chose to ignore that the author informs us of how unattractive most of the sisters are. I assume this is to warn us that they will not find suitable husbands, despite the fact that they are smart, friendly, educated, and fun to be around.

We are set "Adrift" in the second chapter. We find the two eldest sisters are living on a very low income, they are homely looking and poverty makes this even worse than it could be, and they are both optimistic that one or both will find a decent work situation and that their younger, pretty sister will marry well- if only to escape poverty herself. A letter arrives from an old friend looking to connect.

My thoughts (I have many, sorry): Why do they have no other friends? I understand they both worked in positions that isolated them and now find themselves in London, in a boarding house, but surely there were some lady's societies to go hang out in? Church? Other unmarried women of a certain age to be met in a park? What is keeping them apart? Fear of people judging their circumstances? Perhaps their friendship with each other is enough to maintain them. I love that they are both serious readers.

I had to look up what a draper was.

I'm wondering where Gissing is going here. Is this about women's rights? Being "independent" has been stated multiple times. Is this about capitalism? Because, right now I feel that. Was Gissing ahead of his time in pointing out that capitalism keeps the working class is almost abject poverty and feeds them lies about freedoms? This is probably modern me trying to wrap my mind around this while thinking of our own "essential workers" who work hard every day for less than a decent wage.

While laying out the finances for the rest of the year, the sisters see if they can make it on what they have (in case they do not find work). It will be down to the penny, with no extra money for anything but shelter and simple food. Virginia says, "Is such a life worthy of the name?"

Is it truly living or are they just surviving? It's terrifying. I know, I've been there myself.

The chapter ends with one of the sisters questioning what will befall them if they should fall ill. Again, this is another modern, American problem right now. I'm starting to think Gissing was Nostradamus.





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page